Several Coastal Bend senior high school students recently received scholarships awarded by local Ford dealerships.

Ford dealers award scholarships based on the student's contributions to their community. Academic achievement, leadership, education, career goals and financial need are also taken into consideration.

Access Ford, Bowden Ford Lincoln Mercury, Champion Ford, Commercial Motor Co., Inc., Dave Moore Ford Mercury, Eddie Yaklin Ford Lincoln Mercury Nissan, Escamilla Ford, Kinsel's Live Oak Motors and Sames Crow Ford Sales Inc all funded the Coastal Bend area's Salute to Education program.

The 2009 Coastal Bend Salute to Education scholarship recipients will received their scholarships Thursday at the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Performing Arts Center at 6 p.m.

The following students will receive their scholarships today:

Banquete High School

Andreina Alejandro

Roy Wessels

Bishop High School

Katelyn Cotton

Sabrina Gonzalez

Calallen High School

Colby Morris

Grace Kelly

Sawyer Lambert

Kelsey Walker

Robstown High School

Myranda Medina

Emerald Garza

Valerie Infante

Jessica Navejar

Tuloso-Midway High


Lauren Schwirtlich

Travis St. Clair