Competition can be fierce. For journalism students attending colleges and universities from across the state, the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association’s (TIPA) competition during their annual conference really puts students’ knowledge and talents to the test.

Del Mar College journalism students working for the student newspaper, Foghorn, and magazine, Siren, brought home 31 awards from TIPA’s annual competition and live contests after attending the association’s conference in San Antonio over this past weekend.

“Del Mar College’s journalism students really are put to the test since we compete mostly against universities in TIPA’s Division 2 instead of Division 4,” said Robert Muilenburg, assistant professor of journalism and Foghorn advisor. “Both Foghorn and Siren staff actually compete at a higher division level, demonstrating their adeptness not just as current student journalists but also as future professionals preparing for the work ahead of them.”

DMC students who collected their rewards and the categories they won include Staff, third place for Best of Show (Foghorn) and honorable mention for Literary Magazine Overall Excellence (Siren); Midori Allen, honorable mention for Radio News Writing (on-site live contest) ; Raul Alonzo , first place for Literary Magazine Feature Story and for TV Advertising (on-site live contest), third place for Literary Magazine Essay and for General Column, and honorable mentions for Critical Review, for Literary Magazine Feature Story and for Newspaper Design (on-site live contest); Beatriz Alvarado, first place for Literary Magazine Story Package (shared with Devin Moreno) and honorable mentions for Literary Magazine Cover Design, for Literary Magazine Overall Excellence (shared with staff) and for Photo Illustration; Cody Bahn, second place for Feature Photo, third place for Feature Page design, for Sports Action Photo and for Picture Story (shared with Tera Elwell) and honorable mentions for Sports Feature Photo and for Sports Page Design; Kaliegh Benck, honorable mention for Feature Story; Crystal Chavez, first place for Literary Magazine Photo Essay; Tera Elwell , first place for Sports Feature Photo, third place for Picture Story (shared with Cody Bahn) and honorable mention for Live News Video (on-site live contest); Carlos Gonzalez, honorable mention for Sports News Story; Mia Hawes, third place for In-Depth Reporting; Kira Hays, first place for Sports Action Photo; Kelsey Heatley, honorable mention for News Story; Devin Moreno , first place for Literary Magazine Story Package (shared with Beatriz Alvarado) ; Eddie Puente , first place for Headline, third place for News Photo and honorable mention for Feature Photo; and Amber Quaid, second place for PR Crisis Management (on-site live contest).

The Texas Community College Journalism Association (TCCJA) also named their 2014 Journalist of the Year during the TIPA conference, Foghorn staff writer Alexandria Rodriguez. The honor includes a 10-week paid internship at the Corpus Christi Caller-Times. Print and online readers can expect to see Rodriguez’s byline this summer.

Additionally, Foghorn staff writer Raul Alonzo received the Mike Warms Memorial Community College Scholarship and was the top award winner during competition, bringing home seven individual awards. The seasoned reporter and designer will complete his studies at Del Mar College this semester while working full-time as a designer for E.W. Scripps Company at the Corpus Christi Caller-Times.

During TIPA’s conference, students attended workshops covering everything ranging from Associated Press style, photography and multi-media journalism to the importance of internships and much more. They also competed in several live contests and received awards earned based on print editions from the 2013 calendar year.

TIPA is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country. Contests have grown from three initial competitions to contests in general magazine, radio, television, online, two divisions of yearbook, two divisions of literary magazine and four divisions of newspaper, plus more than a dozen on-site contests during their annual convention.