Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush is calling on volunteers for the 11th Annual Winter Beach Cleanup Saturday, Feb. 7 at six Coastal Bend beaches. The cleanup will take place from 9 a.m. to noon.

The locations participating in the Winter Beach Cleanup are:

Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay. Check-in is at Lighthouse Lakes Park, four miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361. Contact Richard Gonzales at 361-779-7351 or via e-mail at richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org.

Port Aransas. Check-in is at Avenue G at the beach. Contact Deno Fabrie at 361-749-0256 or via e-mail at deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

Mollie Beattie Coastal Habitat Community. Check-in is at the parking lot off Highway 361 near Packery Channel. Contact Teresa Carrillo at 361-882-3439 or via e-mail at teresa.carrillo@texasadoptabeach.org.

North Corpus Christi Beach. Check-in is at the Texas State Aquarium, 2710 N. Shoreline Blvd. Contact Rosanna Gossett at 361-881-1203 or via e-mail at rosanna.gossett@texasadoptabeach.org.

Kid’s Place at Cole Park. Check-in is at 1526 Ocean Drive, contact Chelsea Craig at 361-946-3996 or via e-mail at chelsea.craig@texasadoptabeach.org.

Padre Island National Seashore, at the Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22. Contact Buzz Botts at 361-949-8068 or via e-mail at buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org.

The Winter Beach Cleanup is one of three all-volunteer seasonal cleanups coordinated through the Adopt-A-Beach program of the Texas General Land Office.

Most trash found on Texas beaches is left there by litterbugs. Since 1986, Adopt-A-Beach volunteers have picked up enough trash to fill a line of dump trucks 90 miles long, making it one of the most successful volunteer programs in the nation. Volunteers record data on the trash to learn more about the causes of marine debris and to help mitigate pollution along Texas’ 367 miles of coastline.

The Texas General Land Office’s Adopt-A-Beach program is funded primarily by private contributions. To help out, or for more information, call the Adopt-A-Beach program at 1-877-TXCOAST or visit our Web site at www.texasadoptabeach.org.