On Thursday, March 24, The Victoria Fine Arts Center hosted the UIL District 30 5A One Act Play competition. The schools that competed were high schools Alice, Calallen, Tuloso-Midway, Flour Bluff, Gregory-Portland, and Victoria West. Schools arrived early to set up their props and set pieces in their designated spaces, program their lights and sounds, and have a run through of their show before competition began. At 4:15 PM, the directors had a meeting to go over the rules of the competition and determine the order in which the schools would perform.

Each school would perform their one act play in 40 minutes or less with only seven minutes each to both set up and strike their sets. Alice went first performing the John Willet translation of Bertolt Brecht's “The Good Person of Szechwan.” The second performance of the evening was Flour Bluff High School performing “Book of Days” by Lanford Wilson. They were followed onstage by “The Insanity of Mary Girard” by Lanie Robertson, performed by the Calallen High School One Act Play team. The fourth play performed was Gregory-Portland High School's theater students performance of “Duck Hunter Shoots Angel” by Mitch Albom. TM followed them with “The Caucasian Chalk Circle” by Bertolt Brecht, translation by Eric Bentley. The final show of the night was Victoria West with “Up” by Bridget Carpenter.

The competition was a tough one with the students putting their performances on the stage and hoping to earn one of the three top spots to move onto Bi-District. Scoring was given by a three judge panel that scored based on their picks from one through six. TM scored first place earning a one from all three judges. Calallen was second earning a double 2 and a 3. GP got third with two 3's and a 2. Flour Bluff will be the alternate as the fourth place finisher. Victoria West and Alice High School place fifth and sixth respectively.

These three schools will be advancing to Bi-District which will be held on Friday, April 1 at the Tuloso-Midway High School Performing Arts Center starting at 2:00 PM. The schools that will be coming in to compete from District 29 are Eagle Pass C. C. Winn High School, Laredo Nixon High School, and San Antonio Southside High School. The three top schools will go on to Area competition followed by Regional and finally the end goal, State competition. For now, getting past Bi-District is the next target for all schools that have advanced with the local teams not easing up on their determination to win.