CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – On July 6, the Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority (CCRTA) swore in City of Corpus Christi appointees, Larry Young, to replace Mary Saenz and Butch Escobedo, to replace Thomas Dreyer.

During their time, Mr. Young and Mr. Escobedo will serve by supporting the mission and values of the CCRTA by; developing policy, providing legal and judiciary oversight, working directly with the CEO, Jorge Cruz-Aedo, approving the budget for the CCRTA and its various departments, focusing on good stewardship and accountability of public funds, advocating for customer representation and engaging in strategic planning.

Both Mr. Young and Mr. Escobedo have been pillars within the community and are passionate about improving the City of Corpus Christi any way they can.

Larry D.I. Rucker-Young has served 34-years in Law Enforcement and Investigations with the Corpus Christi Police Department, three years with the Nueces County Constables Office Precinct-1 and three years with the Department of Family Protective Services / Child Protective Services. Young is currently appointed as a Nueces County Election Judge, and is a certified Mediator that also serves on the Board of the Dispute Resolution Center of Nueces County.

“I enjoy my job and the challenges thereof. I consider it a great success to provide positive results for the people I serve and the assistance I provide to the team and agency that trust my skills and leadership,” said Young.

Butch Escobedo is a recently retired business owner, US Army Veteran and has served on various boards throughout Corpus Christi. Some boards include: Chamber of Commerce, Type A Board of Corpus Christi, Board of Governor, Leadership Corpus Christi Alumni Association, Workforce Board, City of Corpus Christi Charter Revision Board, and the LULAC Council. Escobedo is looking forward to severing on the CCRTA board, and wants to contribute to things that matter in the community.

“The CCRTA is a vital part that makes this community go, and I’m looking forward to contributing what I can,” said Mr. Escobedo.

The CCRTA has an eleven member board consisted of five appoints by the City of Corpus Christi, two by the Small Cities’ Mayors Committee, and three by Nueces County with a board appointed chairperson. The Board also utilizes two standing committees and five subcommittees in matters that require special knowledge and or technical judgement. Members of the committees are appointed by the Board Chair subject to confirmation by the Board. All policy issues and operational matters must first pass through the Administration Committee or the Operations Committee before action can be taken by the Board.

The CCRTA covers 841 square miles of service and approximately 6 million passenger trips annually with 44 fixed routes and paratransit services. For more information please go to