Twenty-one Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. The regional nominees for 2018 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Texas Education Service Center Region School District Nominating Superintendent 1 Valley View ISD Rolando Ramirez 2 Banquete ISD Max Thompson 2 Corpus Christi ISD Roland Hernandez 3 Rice Consolidated ISD Bill Hefner 4 Lamar Consolidated ISD Thomas Randle 5 Burkeville ISD Brant Graham 5 Port Arthur ISD Mark Porterie 6 Brenham ISD Walter Jackson 7 Lindale ISD Stan Surratt 8 Mount Pleasant ISD Judd Marshall 9 Burkburnett ISD Tylor Chaplin 10 Community ISD Roosevelt Nivens 11 Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Robin Ryan 12 West ISD David Truitt 13 Dripping Springs ISD Bruce Gearing 15 Olfen ISD Gabriel Zamora 15 Brownwood ISD Joe Young 16 Dimmitt ISD Bryan Davis 18 Kermit ISD Denise Shetter 19 Ysleta ISD Xavier De La Torre 20 Medina Valley ISD Kenneth Rohrbach

Texas school superintendents who belong to TASA and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in early August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin September 28-30, and one will be named Outstanding School Board of the Year during that event.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas.

TASA is the professional association for Texas public school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.