The Port of Corpus Christi Authority’s newest Commissioner, Dr. Bryan Gulley, was sworn in on Tuesday, March 24, 2020. Nueces County Judge Barbara Canales administered the Oath of Office after Commissioner Richard Bowers participated in his final Port of Corpus Christi Commission meeting. Commissioner Gulley will fulfil the remainder of Bowers’ term, which will end on Dec. 31, 2020.

"We are delighted to welcome Commissioner Gulley as he brings a passion for maritime commerce in addition to a longtime community commitment," said Sean Strawbridge, Chief Executive Officer for the Port of Corpus Christi. "Our team looks forward to what lies ahead for the Port of Corpus Christi, as we rise to overcome challenges and navigate the ever-evolving global energy market."

Commissioner Gulley, who works as an oral surgeon, long has nurtured a professional interest in industry. He has worked with the Texas General Land Office and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Commissioner Gulley currently serves on the University of Texas Marine Science Institute Advisory Board, the Island Strategic Action Committee and the Island Moorings and Channel Corporation Board.

"Joining the Port of Corpus Christi Commission is a longtime dream realized. I am excited to collaborate with this diverse team of leaders. This is an interesting time for our community, and I feel honored to play a role in governing the region’s economic keystone," said Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner Bryan Gulley.

"Commissioner Gulley represents another fresh, new perspective that will round out our Commission. The Coastal Bend community is growing and changing every day, and our Port must support and complement that evolving identity," said Charles W. Zahn, Jr., Port of Corpus Christi Commission Chairman.

The Port Commission governs the Port of Corpus Christi Authority and is composed of seven commissioners who serve without pay. Each commissioner serves a three-year staggered term. Three commissioners are appointed by the Corpus Christi City Council; three commissioners are appointed by the Nueces County Commissioners Court; and one is appointed by the San Patricio County Commissioners Court.