In a historically low turnout, voters re-elected eight Corpus Christi City Council members on Saturday, while adding a new face to the group with the election of David Loeb to an At-Large position.

At-Large Councilwoman Nelda Martinez led in both early voting and on Election Day, with a total of 8,373 votes. Loeb was second with 8,123 votes, followed by incumbent Mark Scott with 7,123.

Rounding out the At-Large candidates were Jesse Noyola with 3,183 votes, Hector Salinas with 2,843 votes, Bryan Menard with 1,791 votes and Raul Gaona with 1,088 votes.

"We would've liked to see more people come out to vote, but we are very thankful for those who came out and voted," Martinez said after the election. "Now it's time to get to work."

Scott said he felt good after the results came in.

"We have a lot to do. There are a lot of irons in the fire, and we need to get back on it," Scott said.

In reference to Loeb's addition to the city council, Scott said he was confident Loeb would fit right in with the rest of group as someone who is pro-growth and looking for ways to expand the local economy.

Loeb said as a young person, it meant a lot to him that the people of Corpus Christi showed faith in him this election as someone who could help the city continue moving forward.

"I had a lot of great volunteers working with me, and I think that made the difference," Loeb said, adding that his initial focus will be on improving development services for small business owners and working to improve the maintenance of city facilities and infrastructure.

In the mayoral contest, incumbent Mayor Joe Adame led overwhelmingly in early voting and on Election Day, finishing with 71.88 percent of the total vote. Adame received 9,442 votes on Saturday, while challenger Carolyn Moon received 2,386 votes. Adame’s other opponent, Ray Madrigal, finished in third place with 1,308 votes.

District 1 Candidate Kevin Kieschnick was unopposed this year, but received 1,086 votes.

Incumbent John Marez retained his District 2 seat on the council by garnering 53.2 percent of the vote. Challenger Daniel Lucio finished Saturday’s election with 31.6 percent of the total vote, while a second opponent to Marez, John Sloan, had 13.2 percent.

In the District 3 race, incumbent Priscilla Leal will be facing Roland Barrera in a June 11 runoff election after she failed to garner more than 50 percent of the vote on Saturday. Leal had 1,016 votes to Barrera’s 921. A third candidate, Rose Marie Soto, had 99 total votes.

Like Kieschnick, both District 4 Councilwoman Chris Adler and District 5 Councilman Larry Elizondo were unopposed in Saturday’s election.

Managing Editor Tim Olmeda contributed to this report.