Texas AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer sciences agents from across the state, including one from Nueces County, were recognized on July 29 with awards at the 66th annual conference of the Texas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences in Weatherford.

Three agents were presented with the Distinguished Service Award, the highest award a county family and consumer sciences agent can receive from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, said Wendi Green, first vice president and awards chairman of the Texas association and AgriLife Extension agent in Cherokee County.

Each recipient is selected by peers based upon their leadership, educational program efforts and professional development, Green said.

Distinguished Service Award winners and accomplishments recognized at the annual meeting were:

Marsha Blair, Hockley County, exemplary family and consumer sciences programming in diabetes education, food safety and childhood obesity. Wendi Green, quality educational programs to diverse audiences through AgriLife Extension in both Freestone and Cherokee counties. Julie Smith, Borden County, programming on rural health and wellness, such as nutrition, disease prevention and lifestyle changes, due to lacking health care services in the county she serves.

Other national and state association awards presented at the annual meeting include:

(National) Professional Development:

Continued Excellence - Kathlene Aycock, Tom Green County; Johanna Hicks, Hopkins County; and Linda Mock, Montgomery County. Florence Hall Award - (team) Sheryl Austin, Bell County; Paula Butler, Navarro County; Colleen Longbotham, Limestone County; Linda Russell, McLennan County; Karen Kuhlwein-Jungman, Hill County; and volunteers, Joleen Eiklenborg, Frances Cabiness, Larry Lynch, Suzy Weems. Past President's New Professional Award - Denita Young, Rains County.


Educational Curriculum - Rusty Hohlt, Nueces County. Educational Publication - Rusty Hohlt. Education Technology - Johanna Hicks. Newsletters - Alexis Cordova, Liberty County. Press Release - Joyce White, Grayson County. Television - Angela Fiedler, Kendall County. Internet Technology - Lexie McGrane. Dallas County.

Public Relations:

Community Partnership - (team) Julie Gardner, Coryell County, and volunteers - Becky Coward, Tracye Stovall and Deena Bone.