Nearly 700 Robstown residents had taken advantage of early voting opportunities by Tuesday morning, beating the rush for the May 9 election.

According to information provided by the City of Robstown, 699 ballots had been cast in early voting for the city council and Utility Board election by 11 a.m. Tuesday, the last day of early voting.

In the city election, incumbent Mayor Rodrigo Ramon Jr. faces two challengers, J.C. Gonzalez and Ruben Vaiz.

In Place 3, Mandy Barrera Vasquez faces challenger Diane Castro Rubio. Place 4 incumbent Abel Tamez is opposed by Rosa Ena Medina-Villarreal. In Place 5, Mayor Pro-Tem Elias Vasquez faces off against former Robstown ISD school board member Victor Orona. Candidates David Davila Medina and Rosalinda Rodriguez Covarrubias are seeking to win the Place 6 seat left vacant by Aneesa Zilka, who decided not to seek re-election because she no longer resides within the city limits.

Sybil Tipton and Arlene Rodriguez, incumbent council members for Place 1 and Place 2, are unopposed.

On the Utility Board, Juan Hernandez and Daniel Trevino are both seeking the vacant Place 2 seat.

Early voting was also steady for the Robstown Independent School District elections. By Tuesday morning, 489 residents had voted in person at the district's administration building.

Two spots on the Robstown ISD school board are up for grabs, with Place 6 trustee Jerry Gonzalez facing two challengers, Osvaldo Romero and former board member Oscar Lopez. In the Place 7 race, incumbent Rosendo Espinoza is facing two challengers as well, with Marcos Alaniz and Ernesto Gallegos aiming to knock off the former school board president.

On Election Day, both the school district and city elections will be held at Hattie Martin, San Pedro and Lotspeich Elementary schools.