The Clara Driscoll Chapter of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas met March 12 for their monthly meeting at Driscoll Children's Hospital.

On hand to speak to the women was Kathy Weimer, a Corpus Christi teacher, who spoke to the Daughters regarding the biographies of a number of historical men who were signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence on March 2, 1836, at the Assembly Hall located at Washington on the Brazos.

Some of the 59 men who signed the Declaration of Independence were selected by Weimer to discuss. She noted that 50 percent of the signers were lawyers by trade. The oldest man to serve in the Assembly was 70 years of age, but the average age was 38 years.

Kathy mentioned Samuel Rutherford Houston, who was Commander-in-Chief of the Republic of Texas Army, as well as a lawyer who later served as president of the Republic of Texas during 1836-38 and 1842-44. He moved from this position to become governor of the State of Texas from 1859-1861 after Texas became a state in the Union.

George Campbell Childress is believed to be the author of the Texas Declaration of Independence. Another life touched upon was that of Thomas Jefferson Rusk, who was Chief Justice of the Republic's Supreme Court from 1838-40 and also served as a Texas State Senator from 1846-57.

Other signers mentioned were Andrew Briscoe, Lorenzo de Zavala, Jose Francisco Ruiz,and Samuel Price Carson. Robert Hamilton was the most wealthy of the signers, Weimer said.

After Weimer spoke, Karen Andrews was installed as a new member by President Theresa Baucum and registrar Ellen Royce.