Robstown High School's UIL Academic Team brought home the District 31-AAA UIL Academic Championship from the competition held at Raymondville High School on March 28 and April 2.

"As far as we have been able to determine, this is the first time in the history of Robstown High School our UIL Academic Team has won the District Championship," Elizabeth Brammer, UIL Academic Coordinator, said.

Five teams - accounting, computer science, literary criticism, mathematics and Social Studies - all placed first and qualified for the Regional Competition.

Junior Nikki Seabolt, Senior Elexis Saenz and Sophomore Xavier Zamora were the Accounting Team members. Individually, Nikki placed second, Elexis placed third and Xavier placed fourth. Mandy Barrera is the Accounting Team Coach.

The Computer Science Team consisted of Andrew Arredondo, Jonathan Cortez, Christopher Youngblood and Noel Garcia. Individually, Andrew placed first, Jonathan placed second, Christopher placed third and Noel placed fourth. Carlos Guerrero is the Computer Science Team coach.

Cynthia Tapia, Jessica Lerma, Amanda Muse and Erik Recio were the first place Literary Criticism Team members. Individually, Cynthia placed first, Jessica placed fourth, and Amanda placed sixth. Elizabeth Brammer is the Literary Criticism Team coach.

The Mathematics Team consisted of Andrew Arredondo, Hannah Robles, Alex Pena and Christopher Youngblood. Individually, Hannah placed second and Alex placed sixth. Carlos Guerrero is the Mathematics coach.

Jose Esquivel, Hannah Robles, Alex Pena and Jessica Lerma are the first place Social Studies Team members. Individually, Jose placed first, Hannah placed second, Alex placed sixth and Jessica placed eighth. Emilia Phillips is the Social Studies coach.

The Number Sense Team and the Journalism Team both placed second. Number Sense Team members included Andrew Arredondo, Hannah Robles, Alex Pena and Christopher Youngblood. Individually, Alex placed second. Carlos Guerrero is the Number Sense coach.

Journalism Team members included Sascha Borjas, Anissa Doughty, Jonathan Cortez, Kimberly Costilla, Noel Garcia, Jessica Lerma, Elexis Saenz and Cynthia Tapia. Cynthia placed first in Editorial Writing and fifth in Feature Writing; Elexis placed second in Editorial Writing; Anissa placed third in News Writing; Kimberly placed fourth in Headline Writing; Noel placed fourth in News Writing and Sascha placed fifth in News Writing and seventh in Feature Writing.

Jonathan placed sixth in Feature Writing. Elizabeth Brammer coached the four journalism events.

Other individual winners included: Cynthia Tapia, first, and Elexis Saenz, second, in Ready Writing; Jessie Luna, second, Emanuel Cabrera, third, and Alexis Ramirez, sixth in Poetry Interpretation.

Also, in the Spelling competition, Bianca Hernandez placed third and Emanuel Cabrera placed sixth. Teresa Crawford in the spelling coach.

In the Science contest, Selena Ramirez placed fourth overall, but she took first place honors in the Physics category. Miguel Tamez is the science coach.

Jonathan Cortez also placed fourth in the Current Issues and Events contest. Emilia Phillips coaches that event.

Two students, Johnny Espinoza and Michael Ramon, placed fifth and sixth in the Computer Applications contest. Liza Garza is the Computer Applications coach.

Other team members included Judith Marines and Joshua Rendon, Current Issues and Caitlin Dobson, Ready Writing.

All of the first place teams and all of the individuals who placed first, second or third qualified to compete at the Region IV- AAA Contest held at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

Earlier, three Robstown High School students received awards in the One Act Play competition. Sabrina Salazar was named to the All-Star Cast; Jessie Luna was named All-Star Cast Honorable Mention, and Edward Garza was named Outstanding Technician. Jennifer Belcher is the One Act Play Director.