WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved 15 Texas counties impacted by Hurricane Dolly to receive federal aid for debris removal.

The announcement last week follows President George W. Bush's disaster declaration for the Texas counties that suffered damage as a result of recent flooding.

The following counties are now eligible for federal public assistance funding: Aransas, Bexar, Brooks, Cameron, Calhoun, Jim Wells, Hidalgo, Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Victoria and Willacy.

In addition, residents in Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy counties are eligible for individual assistance, in which homeowners are able to receive funding for recovery efforts.

"I saw firsthand the damage Hurricane Dolly inflicted upon South Texas, so this announcement is certainly an important step forward in helping those affected by the storm receive much-needed relief," said U.S. Sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas.

"I'm also pleased residents in Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy counties have been approved for individual assistance, in which homeowners can directly receive aid for recovery efforts. There is still important work to do. I have and will continue to do all I can on the federal level to ensure appropriate and necessary resources are allocated to South Texas families, businesses and communities. I will also work with FEMA, the counties and residents to make sure funding moves expeditiously."

Cornyn traveled to South Texas last month with Gov. Rick Perry to meet with and offer assistance to local officials and residents impacted by the storm.

Cornyn, along with U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas, sent a letter to President Bush last week urging him to expedite federal aid for the Texas counties that need assistance.

For more information or assistance, visit www.fema.gov.