CALALLEN — Calallen coach Phil Danaher is being honored by the Texas High School Hall of Fame.

As part of the 2018 class of the Texas High School Hall of Fame, Calallen’s High School athletic director and head football coach will receive the Tom Landry Award.

Also part of the class of 2018 is Kingsville’s Bobby Cavazos, who was the son of a former foreman at the King Ranch, was a multi-sport athlete at Kingsville in the 1950s before he went on to star at Texas Tech as a running back. At Texas Tech, Cavazos helped the Red Raiders to an 11-1 season in 1953 and a victory over Auburn in the Gator Bowl. Cavazos died in 2013 at 82.

For Danaher, the award is one of many he’s received over the years. Currently, Danaher is the winningest high school football coach in Texas with 427 wins.

Danaher is still adding to his mark. His Wildcats are unbeaten and at the top of the District 30-5A North Zone standings. They are ranked No. 4 in Class 5A with 6-0 record.

Danaher will be inducted in the coach category along with Buda Hays coach Bob Shelton.

Other inductees in this year’s hall of honor class were Brad Dusek (Temple), Ken Washington (Port Arthur Lincoln), Tommy Jeter (Deer Park), Kliff Kingsbury (New Braunfels) and Johnathan Gray (Aledo).

Former Texas Stadium manager Bruce Hardy earned the Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game Award.

The hall of honor banquet is scheduled for May 5, 2018 at the Ferrell in Waco.