The Division 2 Athletic Directors Association (D2 ADA) announced the 2017-18 recipients of the D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards this past week, and a total of 31 members of the Texas A&M-Kingsville athletic department were part of the prestigious group.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

In total, 10,219 student-athletes from 165 institutions were recognized for the 2017-18 Academic Achievement Awards. This year, the Lone Star Conference had 321 of its student-athletes honored while the Heartland and the RMAC had 260 and 465 receiving the award, respectively.

"As an Officer for the D2 ADA Board, it has pleased me to see the number of student-athletes recognized for their academic achievements continue to increase," said current D2 ADA President Jim Johnson, director of athletics at Pittsburg State University. "This program is a point of pride for our current D2 ADA member institutions and a great way for their student-athletes' achievements to be recognized nationally.

"On behalf of the D2 ADA, we congratulate and celebrate these academic distinctions and are proud of your accomplishments."

The Javelina football program led the way with the most student-athletes honored from TAMUK as eight in total received the distinction. The TAMUK women's tennis program had the second most with six, while the softball program came in third with five.
In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution must be a current dues-paying member of the D2 ADA. In addition, the student-athlete must meet the following criteria:

Have a current cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale Have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work Have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year About the D2 ADA: The D2 ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the D2 ADA, please visit The D2 ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 54th year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

Texas A&M-Kingsville D2 ADA Academic Achievement Award Recipients:

Tyler Crouch Baseball Nick Hutchison Baseball Preston Plovanich Baseball Zach Davis Football Cade Dyal Football Payton Hendrix Football Casey Rosellini Football Alan Smith Football Nathan Sosa-Wells Football Kyle Williams Football Kai Youngberg Football Lane Janecka Men's Track & Field Lane Michna Men's Track & Field Ileana Aleman Softball Sydney Andrews Softball Roxy Chapa Softball Rachael Longoria Softball Amanda Thacker Softball Casey Klobedans Volleyball Megan Mattie Volleyball Kristina Kana Women's Basketball Bailey Blezinger Women's Golf Brittany Rodriguez Women's Golf Jade Guerrero Women's Track & Field Madeleine Maltais Women's Track & Field Viviana Ortiz Women's Tennis Phonephathep Philavong Women's Tennis Julia Rauer Women's Tennis Victoria Romanovskaia Women's Tennis Valerie Ruiz Women's Tennis Martina Urrutia Women's Tennis
To see the complete list, click here.

To keep up-to-date with the Javelinas, follow us on Facebook /JavelinaSports or on Twitter @JavelinaSports