The Corpus Christi Hammerheads plan to honor South Texas' finest high school football players in February with their first C.C. Forbes All-Hammerheads Team.

The squad will consist of senior players from the 2007 season. The Hammerheads will announce the team Feb. 1. The All-Hammerheads team will then be honored before the Hammerheads' season opener on March 15 at CITGO Field in the Central Pavilion Arena of the Richard M. Borchard Regional Fairgrounds in Robstown. Corpus Christi begins its 2008 season that night against the San Angelo Stampede Express.

"Our organization and its players have always embodied the love of the game and the passion to play which has made South Texas high school football the institution it is today," said Hammerheads president Chad Dittman. "We want to recognize the area's Friday night high school heroes who through their play on the field have made themselves standouts in a region known for its superb high school football."

The All-Hammerheads team will consist of 20 offensive and 20 defensive players. Each of the players will receive a scholarship upon graduation. One area coach will also be selected as the All-Hammerheads Coach of the Year.

"South Texas is rich in football talent," Dittman said. "Some of our club's all-time best players are products of this area. This is just our way of recognizing our fine high school student-athletes from Corpus Christi to Freer and George West to Falfurrias and everywhere in between."

The 2007 Hammerheads, which reached the Intense Football League's Intense Bowl III in August, had a roster which included a handful of former South Texas high school standouts like DeAndrae and Stephen Fillmore (West Oso High School), Nathaniel Dunn (Corpus Christi Moody High School), LaDaniel Marshall (Corpus Christi Miller High School), Fred Wallace (Flour Bluff High School), Roderick Chambers (Ingleside High School) and Rene Vasquez (Aransas Pass High School).